For this day, we find it objectionable for the meat of the animal slaughtered by the People of the Book to be eaten. Our basis for this view is briefly as follows:
Allah states in the Qur’an: “Today all good, pure foods have been made lawful for you. Similarly, the food of the People of the Book (ahl al-kitab) is permissible for you and yours is permissible for them.”
The above verse clearly states that the meat of an animal slaughtered by the People of the Book (ahl al-kitab) can be eaten. However, in order to fully understand the Qur’an, we must keep a basic principle in mind. He also said: “It explains one part of the Qur’an and the other part.” Therefore, this verse should be understood in the light of other verses on the same subject.
This verse is as follows: “Do not eat of what is not slaughtered in Allah’s Name. For that would certainly be an act of disobedience. Surely the devils whisper to their human associates to argue with you. If you were to obey them, then you too would be polytheists.”
In the light of these two verses, it is understood that the meat of the animal slaughtered by the People of the Book can be eaten, provided that the name of Allah is mentioned during the slaughter. If the People of the Book mention the name of Allah while slaughtering an animal whose meat has been rendered halal, the animal slaughtered by him is also halal for a Muslim. For this reason, the meat of an animal slaughtered by a polytheist is not halal.
It is known that today’s followers of the people of the book are weak in religion and belief and in degeneration in their lives. For this reason, it is not possible to guarantee that he slaughtered in the name of Allah. In addition, they are not reliable in matters related to halal-haram.
Allah (swt) knows best.
 Surah Maida, 5
 Surah An’am, 121